Belfast Telegraph

Twelfth city parade to host 70 bands

Seventy bands are expected to take part in this year’s Twelfth parade in Belfast.

The parade, to mark the 320th anniversary of the Battle of the Boyne, will leave Belfast Orange Hall, at Carlisle Circus, at 10am on Monday.

The Miller Memorial Flute band will lead the parade as it makes its way along Clifton Street, Donegal Street, Royal Avenue, Castle Junction, Donegall Place to City Hall.

After the wreath-laying ceremony, the parade will proceed via Donegal Square West, Bedford Street, Dublin Road, Shaftsbury Square, Bradbury Place, Lisburn Road, Balmoral Avenue and Malone Road to Barnetts Demesne. A service of thanksgiving, starting at 2.30pm, will be conducted by Rev Dr Victor Ryan, Imperial and Grand Chaplain.

The address and resolution on faith will be given by Rev Mervyn Gibson, Deputy Grand Chaplain. The resolutions on loyalty and state will be presented by Thomas Haire, County Grand Master and the guest speaker will be Councillor William Humphrey. The return parade will begin at 4.15pm.

The police are warning of minor traffic disruption (10 to 15 mins) on: Lower Whitewell / Shore Road between 8am to 8.30am and again from 6pm to 7pm. Springfield Road , West Circular Rd to Lanark Way, from 9am to 10am. Ardoyne to Crumlin Road from 7.30am to 9am and between 6pm to 8pm. York Street between 8.30am to 9.30am and from 5.30pm to 6.30pm.

There will be fairly major traffic disruption on: Agnes Street down Crumlin Road/Clifton Street/Peters Hill from 8.30am to 12 noon and from 5.30pm to 7.30pm (Westlink offslips to Clifton Street are closed between these times but access to the Mater Hospital shall remain open), and the Shankill Road between 9am to 11.30am.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph