Belfast Telegraph

Home News UK

Former deputy PM Nick Clegg loses seat, but Vince Cable makes Lib-Dem return

The former deputy prime minister lost to Labour’s Jared O’Mara.

Former deputy prime minister Nick Clegg has lost his seat in one of the most high-profile defeats of the night.

The ex-Liberal Democrat leader lost to Labour rival Jared O’Mara, who took Sheffield Hallam with 21,881 votes to Mr Clegg’s 19,756.

A sombre-looking Mr Clegg said he had “never shirked from the political battlefield” and warned of the “agonising” future ahead for the next government that seeks to unite a divided country.

Meanwhile, Lib Dem warhorse Sir Vince Cable has swept back into his former Twickenham seat with 34,969 votes.

The 74-year-old ousted the Conservatives’ Dr Tania Mathias, who snatched the seat in 2015 with a majority of just 2,017.

Former “Baby of the House” Jo Swinson sparked her political comeback by winning her old parliamentary constituency back from the SNP.

The Liberal Democrat first won the seat of East Dunbartonshire from Labour in 2005 at the age of 25 – at the same time becoming the first MP to have been born in the 1980s.

When the SNP swept the board in the 2015 election, winning 56 of the 59 Scottish constituencies, she was ousted from Westminster by nationalist John Nicolson.


From Belfast Telegraph