Belfast Telegraph

Home News UK

Labour frontbench appointments announced by Jeremy Corbyn

Three MPs elected to the Commons for the first time in last month’s General Election are among the new shadow team.

Jeremy Corbyn has announced 20 appointments to Labour’s frontbench in the House of Commons, including six who had previously resigned from positions in his shadow team.

Three MPs elected to the Commons for the first time in last month’s General Election were also among the appointments as well as four who returned to Westminster in June having departed at earlier elections.

Mr Corbyn said the appointment of “a wealth of talent” to roles outside the shadow cabinet was “further evidence that Labour is not just the Opposition – we are the government in waiting”.

Ashfield MP Gloria de Piero and Great Grimsby’s Melanie Onn return to the front bench a year after joining the mass resignation of shadow ministers after the EU referendum in June 2016.

Ms de Piero, who last year told Mr Corbyn she was quitting because she did not believe he could deliver victory, takes a post in the justice team, while Ms Onn becomes a housing spokeswoman.

Holly Lynch (Halifax) takes an environment brief less than a year after resigning as an opposition whip in protest at the sacking of Rosie Winterton as chief whip, while Rachael Maskell (York Central) joins the transport team five months after quitting the front bench to defy a three-line whip and vote against the invocation of Article 50 to take Britain out of the EU.

Labour MP Holly Lynch (PA)

There were also jobs for Roberta Blackman-Woods and Karl Turner, who took part in the June 2016 mass resignation but returned to the front bench later that year after Mr Corbyn’s re-election as leader.

New MPs joining the front bench less than a month after their arrival in the Commons were Paul Sweeney (Glasgow North-East), Afzal Khan (Manchester Gorton) and Anneliese Dodds (Oxford East).

Left-wingers David Drew and Chris Williamson, who lost their seats at earlier elections before returning to the Commons last month, were fast-tracked back onto the front benches.

There were also slots in the shadow team for Chris Ruane, returning as Vale of Clwyd MP after two years away, and Tony Lloyd, who was a minister under Tony Blair and chair of the Parliamentary Labour Party before quitting Parliament in 2012 to run for Manchester Police and Crime Commissioner and is now MP for Rochdale.

Ex-Coronation Street actress Tracy Brabin (Dave Higgens/PA)

Former Coronation Street actress Tracy Brabin, who won Batley & Spen in the by-election forced by Jo Cox’s murder last year and retained it in the 2017 election, takes up her first frontbench post in the education team.

Labour said further appointments would be made “in due course”.


From Belfast Telegraph