Belfast Telegraph

Home News UK

Six X Factor hopefuls in running for Eurovision

By Lucy Mapstone

Six former X Factor hopefuls will vie to represent the United Kingdom at this year's Eurovision Song Contest, including former semi-finalist Danyl Johnson.

Johnson and fellow 2009 contestant Lucie Jones are hoping for glory along with 2012 hopeful Salena Mastroianni, 2015 auditionee Holly Brewer and 2016 contestants Olivia Garcia and Nate Simpson.

The singers will compete to be chosen by the voting public and a jury to represent the UK at the annual music event, which will take place in Kiev, Ukraine, in May.

Johnson came in fourth place behind eventual winner Joe McElderry in 2009, although he made his mark with his memorable first audition, a cover of With A Little Help From My Friends by The Beatles.

His Eurovision track is entitled Light Up The World and will compete against the other contenders' songs, including Jones's ballad, Never Give Up On You.

Mastroianni's entry is called I Don't Wanna Fight, while recent X Factor hopefuls Simpson and Garcia are competing with tracks called What Are We Made Of and Freedom Hearts, respectively.

Brewer, who has previously supported acts including McFly and Jess Glynne in concert, finishes the line-up with her song, I Wish I Loved You More.

The six artists and songs were revealed on Monday on Ken Bruce's BBC Radio 2 show ahead of the Eurovision: You Decide event on January 27.

The 90-minute UK selection show will be hosted by former Great British Bake Off presenter Mel Giedroyc and will be broadcast live on BBC Two.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph