Belfast Telegraph

Home News World

Duterte wins Philippine presidency in official count

An official vote count in the Philippines has determined that Mayor Rodrigo Duterte was elected president and Rep Leni Robredo triumphed as vice president in elections earlier this month.

The congressional vote count, which ended late on Friday, determined that Mr Duterte, the crime-busting mayor of southern Davao city, received more than 16.6 million votes in an overwhelming victory, while Mr Robredo won more than 14.4 million votes.

Mr Robredo narrowly beat Sen Ferdinand Marcos Jr, the son of a dictator ousted in a 1986 "people power" revolt, with a margin of just over 263,000 votes.

It was not immediately clear whether Mr Robredo's victory will be contested by Mr Marcos, who has made accusations about possible election irregularities.

Sen Aquilino Pimentel III said Congress will officially proclaim Mr Duterte and Mr Robredo as winners on Monday.


From Belfast Telegraph