Belfast Telegraph

Home News World

G7 members sign joint communique despite US trade tensions

Canadian PM Justin Trudeau said the seven leaders had reached agreement on ‘consensus language’.

Canadian prime minister Justin Trudeau has said all countries attending the G7 summit have signed a joint communique, despite sharp trade tensions with the US.

Mr Trudeau said the US, Canada, UK, France, Germany, Italy and Japan have reached agreement on “consensus language”.

US president Donald Trump recently slapped tariffs on Canada, Mexico and the European Union, angering his counterparts before he arrived at the summit in Quebec.

Some had predicted it would be difficult for all the leaders to reach any kind of consensus because of the sharp disagreements.

But Mr Trudeau said the leaders had “rolled up our sleeves” and settled on language they could agree to on a broad range of issues.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph