Belfast Telegraph

Home News World

Orchestra wins Birgit Nilsson Prize

The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra has been named the 2014 winner of the Birgit Nilsson Prize, a prestigious musical honour that comes with a one million dollar (£597,000) award.

Birgit Nilsson Foundation president Rutbert Reisch cited the orchestra's "highest artistic standards and great versatility" in choosing the ensemble for the award, given once every three years.

Orchestra president Clemens Hellsberg said Vienna Philharmonic members were "honoured by a prize" that bears Nilsson's name.

Endowed by the late Swedish soprano, the Birgit Nilsson Prize was first awarded to opera star Placido Domingo in 2008, three years after Nilsson's death.

Conductor Ricardo Muti was the second recipient in 2011.

The award will be presented in Stockholm on October 8 to the full orchestra in the presence of Swedish King Carl XVI Gustav.


From Belfast Telegraph