Belfast Telegraph

Home News World

Swiss to reimpose immigrant quotas

The Swiss government has decided to reimpose quotas on immigrants from Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic and five other Central and Eastern European nations.

The Swiss Cabinet said residents from these countries - which also include Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia - will be subject to quotas starting in May when they apply for residency permits needed to work more than a year in Switzerland.

The government said the quotas fall under a "safeguard clause" of an agreement with the European Union.

The Swiss let the quotas on the eight nations lapse in May last year. Since then, Swiss officials say they have granted about 6,000 residency permits to those nations' workers - almost triple the average 2,075 permits a year granted before then.

The decision reflects a longstanding uneasiness about immigration and rising concerns about integrating workers and employers' compliance with wage and labour requirements, along with a desire to hold unemployment to 3% even during a time of economic turmoil.

"In weighing its interests, the Federal Council took into account the fact that the free movement of persons provides a good number of advantages to the Swiss economy," the government said.

"Over the past months, however, the Federal Council has noticed that the complexity of the immigration theme necessitates a debate on measures in the domains of the job market (including accompanying measures) and integration, and that such a discussion must unfold taking into full account the considerations of economic policy," it said in a statement.

The government said the quotas fall under a "safeguard clause" of an agreement with the European Union.

However, Martin Schulz, president of the European Parliament, said Switzerland's decision would "discriminate" against eight EU member nations and "goes against the spirit and letter of what Switzerland has already signed up to". He said: "Switzerland is the EU's third largest trading partner, and there are no clear legal or economic justifications for such a decision against eight EU member states."

The Swiss government says as many as 1.1 million EU citizens are living in Switzerland, which has a population of about 7.9 million. The country is not an EU member state. Relations between Switzerland and the EU are framed by a series of bilateral treaties


From Belfast Telegraph