Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

A horrible case of deja-vu as outclassed NI hit for six again

Norway 6 Northern Ireland 0

By Stuart McKinley

Northern Ireland suffered a repeat of their 6-0 defeat to Norway in their opening Women's Euro 2021 qualifier as they went down to another six-hit in their return game in Stavenger.

The Norwegians' clinical finishing was once again the difference between the teams - something which Kenny Shiels' side were unable to match.

Similar to Belfast two months ago, Norway seized the initiative after just three minutes.

The Norwegians kept possession following a corner and after Ingrid Moe Wold fed the ball in to Karina Saevik, she set up Lisa-Marie Utland to score.

That setback didn't rock Northern Ireland and their attacking play was rewarded with a succession of corners. On nine minutes the Norway defence was only able to clear as far as Chloe McCarron, whose shot flew wide.

It was Norway who pounced from a corner of their own to double the lead on 12 minutes.

Wold pulled the ball back into the path of Utland and she struck to net her second.

The crossbar saved Northern Ireland six minutes before half-time after Guro Reiten's shot had beaten Becky Flaherty.

Reiten, however, only had to wait until six minutes after the break to get on the scoresheet.

Caroline Graham Hansen made a run and slipped it through for Reiten to finish from 12 yards, and it was 4-0 just a minute later as Ingrid Syrstad Engen met a corner from Reiten and her header flew into the net.

Norway made it five on 69 minutes as Graham Hansen tucked her shot home. And they got the half dozen three minutes into injury-time as Graham Hansen netted her second.

NORWAY: Fiskerstrand, Wold, Hansen, Mjelde, Boe Risa (Nygard, 77 mins), Graham Hansen, Utland (Thorsnes, 67 mins), Syrstad Engen, Reiten, Maanum, Saevik (Eikeland, 67 mins). Subs: Mikalsen, Kvamme, Hovland, Åsland, Hansen, Terland, Leine, Hasund.

NORTHERN IRELAND: Flaherty, Newborough, Nelson, Hutton, Vance, Wade, McFadden (Callaghan, 55 mins), Furness (Kelly, 84 mins), Bell, McCarron, McGuiness (McMaster, 77 mins). Subs: Perry, Finnegan, Burrows, McMaster, Kelly, Callaghan, McKenna, Howe.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph