Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Home Sport

Candystripes get away with one as Rovers left to rue missed chances

Derry City 0 Shamrock Rovers 0

By Eoin Wilson

Derry City had to make do with a point as Shamrock Rovers missed countless chances to become the first away team to win at the Brandywell this season.

Stephen Bradley's team came under mounting pressure after a series of poor results, and they were the better team throughout.

City had an opportunity to open the scoring 10 minutes in when Jamie McDonagh, in for the injured Ronan Hale, raced past Lee Grace and whipped a low cross in towards the front post where Rory Patterson arrived, only to steer his left-footed effort past the post.

Rovers were by far the more content of the two teams as the first half came to a close and they could have gone into the break with a goal as Sean Kavanagh's free kick found Roberto Lopes completely unmarked at the back post, but he headed over the bar.

The early stages of the second half were no better for Derry but equally as frustrating for Rovers boss Stephen Bradley, who watched his team miss another superb opportunity. This time Daniel Carr got the better of Darren Cole for pace and he raced towards the Derry goal, attempting to hook the ball over Doherty, but the Derry captain read his intentions and got enough of a hand on it to clear the danger.

A Rovers goal seemed inevitable and City somehow survived again when Graham Burke's effort from out wide whacked off Doherty's post, and the rebound fell to Kavanagh but his effort was blocked by a combination of Doherty and a City defender.

Rovers could have nicked it at the end when substitute Brandon Miele's volley beat Doherty but flew the wrong side of the post.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Conor McDermott, Eoin Toal, Darren Cole, Jack Toal, Rory Hale, Aaron McEneff, Jamie McDonagh (Nathan Boyle, 66), Ronan Curtis (Ben Doherty, 31), Nicky Low, Rory Patterson.

Shamrock Rovers: Kevin Horgan, Ethan Boyle, Roberto Lopes, Lee Grace, Greg Bolger, Ronan Finn (David McAllister, 88), Danny Carr (Gary Shaw, 90), Sean Kavanagh, Joey O'Brien, Aaron Bolger, Graham Burke (Brandon Miele, 85).

Referee: Derek Tomney

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph