Belfast Telegraph

Committee to study brawl footage ahead of decision

By Declan Bogue

Members of the Competitions Control Committee met yesterday as they planned what course of action would be taken over the pre-game scenes that marred the clash of Armagh and Cavan at the Athletic Grounds.

It's understood the group was to meet to confirm times and venues for the first couple of weekends of the qualifiers, but they began discussions on what had transpired on Sunday and are seeking to obtain as much video footage as possible before making their judgements.

Meanwhile, the venues and times for the football qualifiers have been released.

Pete McGrath's Fermanagh travel to O'Moore Park, Portlaoise to take on Laois, that game throwing in at 3.30pm, while Derry host Longford at Celtic Park at the later time of 5pm, both games on June 21.

A week later, Down will take on Leitrim in Pairc Esler, Cavan face Westmeath in Kingspan Breffni Park and the losers of this weekend's Tyrone v Monaghan game will meet Louth.

If that is Tyrone the game will be fixed for Healy Park, if Monaghan it will be held in Drogheda.

Those games will be played over the weekend of June 28 and 29, with times to be decided.

In hurling, the Management Committee of the GAA released a statement reading: 'Arising from concerns in relation to implementation of the Playing Rules of Hurling in respect of the taking of penalty pucks and free pucks from the 20 metres line, the Management Committee of the GAA will recommend Interpretation of Rules to Central Council to address these concerns.

'It is envisaged that this process will be completed as quickly as possible and in advance of this weekend's games.'

This is in direct response to the confusion arising out of Anthony Nash's close-in frees and penalties, after Waterford goalkeeper Stephen O'Keefe rushed off his goal line to block an effort during Sunday's Munster Championship replay.

Elsewhere, Donegal's Michael Murphy was won the Opel Player of the Month.

The Glenswilly man produced a serious third quarter of football in Donegal's win over Derry in the Ulster quarter-final to take the football award. Laois' Stephen Maher won the hurling award.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph