Belfast Telegraph

Crockard heads vintage entry for Hutton Memorial event

By Paul Lindsay

The ninth annual Billy Hutton Memorial Scramble gets under way tomorrow at Bell's Hill, Crossgar.

The two-day event kicks-off at 5pm with some nostalgic classic racing, which will see plenty of mouth-watering two-stroke machinery included in the line-up.

Formerly known as the Tommy Stewart Scramble – from 1952 through to 2005 – the Knock Club event will then run a full race programme on Saturday with practice and qualifying from 9.30am and the first race scheduled for 11am.

It will be an action-packed day with three-time former British champion Gordon Crockard the headline name on the entry, despite competing in the EVO section on a CR500 Honda.

Another blast from the past on the EVO entry, and a peer of Crockard's on the Irish national scene in the 1990s, is former Ulster and Irish champion Philip McCullough. The Ballymena man will be riding a 2003 KTM250.

Leading the modern entry is Robert Hamilton from Portavogie. Robert is a three-time winner of the Billy Hutton Trophy and has plenty of experience of the track. Entries are also expected from last year's winner Richard Bird and runner up Tommy Merton.

List of former winners: 2006 Robert Hamilton; 2007 Mark Jones; 2008 Gordon Crockard; 2009 Gordon Crockard; 2010 Robert Hamilton; 2011 Robert Hamilton; 2012 Gordon Crockard; 2013 Richard Bird.

The track is situated on the main A7 Belfast to Downpatrick Road, two miles south of Crossgar.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph