Belfast Telegraph

Farquhar opts for lucky 77 on racing return

By Paul Lindsay

Such is the strength in depth at the Isle of Man TT in the modern era, there will be plenty of interest for fans outside the magical top 20, and none more so than Dungannon's Ryan Farquhar, who has opted to take his usual number 77.

The 38-year-old, three-time winner on Mona's Isle, will be quietly confident of making it TT podium number 13 in the Lightweight race, where he will make his return to action after an 18-month sabbatical.

Jamie Hamilton, now riding for Wilson Craig Racing, will have the number 26 plate with Horst Saiger, who was second fastest newcomer behind Brookes in 2013, taking 28, while Ivan Lintin, contesting the 1000cc races for the first time, will have number 37 adorning the Taylor Lindsey Racing Hondas.

The newcomers are spread out, with Martin Jessopp and Peter Hickman taking their regular British Superbike numbers of 40 and 60 respectively. Others to look out for include former Grand Prix regular Danny Webb (66), Canadian ace Dan Kruger (71) and leading IRRC riders Vick de Cooremeter (92) and Laurent Hoffmann (93).

The TT Superstock entry sees most of the riders given the same numbers although Hutchinson, Brookes and Donald have all decided not to take part, which will see riders below them moving up the grid.

A number of riders will also be in different livery including McGuinness (Padgett's Motorcycles), Michael Dunlop (MD Racing Honda) and Cummins (RAF Reserves Racing Honda).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph