Belfast Telegraph

Neill facing massive challenge in bid to retain trophy

Paul Lindsay

The Adelaide Masters Series moves north of the border on Saturday to Bishopscourt Racing Circuit in County Down, with Portadown's Marshall Neill the star name on the entry list aboard a Wilson Craig Honda.

This is the third meeting in the five-event championship, sponsored by Adelaide Insurance, with the Norman Brown Trophy awarded to the winner of the second Superbike race along with a cheque for £1,250.

Neill was the Norman Brown Trophy winner 12 months ago, but expect Derek Sheils and Lisburn's David Haire to give him a run for his money this time around.

The Supersport class will also see Neill in action, against the likes of Haire, Cody Nally and Triumph-mounted Mark Conlin. Racing gets under way at 12 noon.

The eighth annual Billy Hutton Memorial Scramble will take place at Bell's Hill, Crossgar on Saturday, while there will be a pre-event day of nostalgia tomorrow with classic racing and an evening chat show (9pm) marking the 40th anniversary of Youth Motocross racing in Ulster.

Guests will include former GP stars David Watson, Laurence Spence and Stephen Russell, with three-time British champion Gordon Crockard and former GP winner Alan Morrison expected to attend.

Reigning champion Crockard will not be on Saturday's starting gate due to a serious hand injury sustained at home in June, but racing is sure to be fast and furious with action for modern and EVO machinery from 11am.

As part of the 40th anniversary celebrations, parade laps will take place on Saturday, featuring some 'blasts from the past'. The track is on the main A7 Belfast to Downpatrick road, two miles south of Crossgar.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph