| 16.9°C Belfast

The Mondello Masters undergoes major revamp ahead of 2017

The ever-popular Mondello Masters series, once regarded as the out-and-out premier championship on the Irish Short Circuit calendar, has had a major revamp ahead of the 2017 season.

The new schedule will see a reduced number of events, with each of the six scheduled for 2017 taking place over two days.

The calendar will also see a more comprehensive spread of events throughout the season - the opening event is scheduled for late March, followed by one race meeting per month from May through to early October.

To maintain the required number of National Championship and Masters Championship events within the reduced calendar, three of the 2017 dates will count for both championships.

This forward-thinking change has come about at the request of competitors - making it more affordable and streamlined.

To allow the two series to combine, some small changes will be made to Masters regulations. One of the most significant changes will be the promoter of the Masters adopting the same Cup and Pro grading as the National Championship. In addition, support championship classes at Masters events will now be in line with National Championship regulations.

The Masters' Superbike and Supersport tyre restrictions will be retained, however, at combined events, and only those wishing to score Masters points will be required to comply, while riders only interested in National Championship points will be free to use as many tyres as they wish.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Combining the Masters and the National Championship should encourage more competitors to tackle both series and the end result should be a stronger, more stable Irish Short Circuit racing scene, with that complicated control tyre rule the only small downside.

2017 Mondello Park Motorcycle Racing Dates

March 25 & 26: Masters Superbike Championship May 6 & 7: National Championship & Masters Superbike Championship

June 24 & 25: National Championship & Masters Superbike Championship

July 15 & 16: Masters Superbike Championship

August 5 & 6: National Championship & Masters Superbike Championship

September 30 & October 1: Masters Superbike Championship