Belfast Telegraph

The Punter: David Haye knockout bet to win BBC award ... in 2011

The layers who took a pasting after Tony McCoy’s landslide victory in the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award have wasted no time in looking towards next year.

AP is an extraordinary sportsman but even he would need to produce something extra exceptional to win the award for a second time and hence an early price of 33-1.

But there again, one can never put anything past the greatest jump jockey of all time who believes in mastering all challenges put in front of him.

He certainly gave the bookies a bashing to the tune of around £1m with one happy ‘railway shunter’ staking £7,000 at evens as a flood of money saw him backed down to as low as 2-7.

Paddy Power said McCoy cost them £350,000 while Ladbrokes took a hit of £100,000.

Boxer David Haye is 5-1 ante-post favourite with William Hill despite finishing bottom of this year’s final 10, although others prefer Andy Murry at 9-2.

However, it is anticipated Haye (pictured) will fight one of the Klitschko brothers next year and victory there would see his standing really take off in terms of media coverage.

Murray and Lewis Hamilton always figure highly on bookmakers’ lists, although neither reached the shortlist this year.

However, a Wimbledon win or any other Grand Slam triumph would be an ace factor in his favour but it always seems to be a case of so near and yet so far for Andy.

On the cricket front, Andrew Strauss and Graeme Swann are both 33-1 but if England hold on to the Ashes, then Strauss in particular would be a tasty bit of value.

With no major tournament over the summer, footballers can safely be ignored but golf should figure prominently with this year’s fourth and fifth-placed Lee Westwood (10-1) and Graeme McDowell (25-1) plus 16-1 Rory McIlroy all chasing major honours.

|BBC Sports Personality 2011 (William Hill): 5-1 David Haye; 6-1 Andy Murray; Lewis Hamilton; 10-1 Lee Westwood; 12-1 Amir Khan; 16-1 Rory McIlroy; 20-1 Paul Casey; 25-1 Graeme McDowell; Ian Poulter; Justin Rose; Wayne Rooney; Jenson Button; 33-1 John Terry; Frank Lampard; Luke Donald; James DeGale; Jessica Ennis; Andrew Strauss; Graeme Swann; 1 Chris Ashton; Mark Cavendish; Tony McCoy; 40-1 Lewis Moody; 50-1 Laura Robson; Kevin Pietersen; Phil Taylor; Ronnie O’Sulivan; John Higgins; Gavin Henson; Bradley Wiggins; Rebecca Adlington; 66-1 Christine Ohurugu, Ryan Moore, Ruby Walsh, Mo Farah; Victoria Pendleton; Amy Williams; 100-1 Audley Harrison; Jonny Wilkinson; Paula Radcliffe.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph