Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Competition fierce for our young team prize

By Ali Gordon

Lurgan College struck gold for the second time in three years in the Belfast Telegraph Young Team of the Year category at our 2013 Sports Awards.

The girls triumphed after beating Victoria College 1-0 to lift the Belfast Telegraph Senior Schools' Cup last year and have emulated their success by winning the Cup again in 2014 thanks to a 1-0 extra-time victory over Rainey Endowed.

It was Lurgan College's 12th Schools' Cup final and their fifth win but they will have to beat stiff competition from other young teams if they are to lift the Belfast Telegraph's coveted Young Team of the Year again in 2014.

The St Patrick's Day finals proved to be another series of exciting clashes.

It may have been a new stadium at Ravenhill but it was the same old story for Methodist College Belfast who won the Rugby Schools' Cup for the 35th time.

A spectacular 27-12 win over Sullivan Upper saw Methody triumph for the third consecutive year.

In GAA, St Patrick's Maghera had an impressive 1-12 to 1-8 victory over Omagh CBS at Armagh to lift the MacRory Cup in their third consecutive final.

On the football pitch, De La Salle claimed their first Belfast Senior Cup success since 2010 with a thrilling 3-2 comeback over local rivals St Mary's Grammar School at Lisburn Distillery's New Grosvenor Stadium on March 17.

The victory over St Mary's made it a record of eight trophy wins for De La Salle.

Ulster Under-18 girls' hockey team also had a magnificent season, becoming 2014 inter-provincial champions after four wins from four in the tournament.

They then followed up by collecting silver medals in the UK School Games, losing 4-3 to Scotland in the final to narrowly miss out on gold.

The Under-18 boys also had a good tournament, securing bronze medals, and are expected to be in contention for inter-provincial honours in next week's competition hosted by Leinster.

These are just some of the many worthy contenders for the prestigious Belfast Telegraph Young Team of the Year Award 2014 but we are sure you will have some great suggestions of your own.

If so, please send them in to us via our website ahead of the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards which take place on January 26, 2015 at the Ramada Hotel in Belfast.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph