Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Cool Conor Ferguson aiming to strike gold and stamp his passport for Rio Olympics

By David Kelly

Conor Ferguson will today shoot for a place at the Rio Olympics when he competes in the final of the 100m backstroke at the Irish long course championships in Dublin's NAC.

The 16-year-old star eased into the final when he finished four tenths of a second off the FINA A qualification mark of 54.36, despite needing some physio on his neck in the morning.

Having been only 0.29 seconds away from the mark in February, Conor will be hoping to seal his place in Rio with a gold medal-winning display this evening.

Dad Peter said: "He made good progress from the heats so now we'll see how it goes in the final."

Longford's Gerry Quinn clocked a new Irish junior record for the 200m freestyle, winning in 1:50.86 - breaking the 2009 mark of 1:50.98 held by Larne's Conor Leaney. Bangor's Jordan Sloan picked up silver in 1:51.30.

Ards retained the women's 4x100m freestyle relay, while the men's event was won by UCD in a new Irish club senior record time of 3:28.07. Ards were second in a new Ulster senior record of 3:28.58.

James Brown of Ards took Irish silver in the 200m butterfly with an Ulster senior record of 2:05.79, while Lisburn's Rachel Bethel won the 200m free.

Men 1500m Freestyle Final: 1st A Meegan Aer Lingus 16:12.67 2nd *G Jegher SKB 16:12.99 3rd H McMahon Ennis 16:14.89

Women 800m Freestyle Final: 1st *K Taylor Scotland 9:14.79 2nd *M Perea Bordonaba Aer Lingus 9:16.29 3rd S Hickey Limerick 9:22.94

Men 200m Freestyle Final: 1st G Quinn Longford 1:50.85 IJR 2nd J Sloan Bangor 1:51.30 3rd D Power UCD 1:55.02

Women 200m Freestyle Final: 1st *D Villars L SHK 2:01.78 2nd R Bethel Lisburn 2:02.82 3rd M Byrne Trojan 2:06.70

Men 200m Butterfly Final: 1st B Hyland Tallaght 2:00.64 2nd *C Reid Scotland 2:04.92 3rd *N Van Duijn L SHK 2:04.93

Women 200m Butterfly Final: 1st *T Bruce Scotland 2:15.54 2nd E Walshe 2:17.42 3rd S Kelly Claremorris 2:18.58

Men 50m Breaststroke Final: 1st D Greene UCD 28.19 2nd J Graham Bangor 28.21 3rd *L Pfyffer L SHK 29.59

Women 50m Breaststroke Final: 1st *S Granicher ARFS 32.66 2nd M McSharry Marlins 32.68 3rd N Coyne Tallaght 33.07

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph