Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Andrew White forced to wait before claiming record

By Ian Callender

Andrew White must wait until the Intercontinental Cup final in December to equal Kyle McCallan's record number of appearances for Ireland after being surprisingly left out of the squad for the World Twenty20 Qualifiers in Abu Dhabi next month.

White played in all but two of the games at last year's qualifying tournament, when Ireland reached the finals in Sri Lanka by winning their last 10 games, but was not selected for either game at the finals and has appeared in only two of the last eight T20 internationals.

National Coach Phil Simmons said "The selectors felt that it was a good chance to take a look at some of the other contenders.

"He's been one of our main performers in the longer form of the game, so he'll be back for the InterContinental Cup final against Afghanistan."

The 15-man T-20 squad somewhat surprisingly includes Instonians batsman James Shannon, after a summer to forget, and Andy McBrine, the 19-year-old Donemana all-rounder gets his first overseas trip with the senior squad, after making his debut, against Scotland, in the final match of the season.

"Andrew McBrine deserves an opportunity. He's done very well this season and his bowling will be a useful asset on the slower pitches in the UAE," added Simmons.

Alex Cusack also returns to the squad after missing the second half of the summer through injury.

He remains a key member of the T20 squad as 46 wickets at less than 17 runs each would testify. Indeed only four players have played more games in the shortest format than the Clontarf all-rounder.

However, after missing Ireland's last two I-Cup games – he was left out against the Dutch when the county players were not available – there is no room for him in the I-Cup final squad.

Thirteen players have been named for the game in Dubai on December 10-14 and as well as White playing his 226th game for Ireland, Trent Johnston will definitely play his last, determined to go out with a winners' medal.

Squads: World T20 Qualifiers: W Porterfield (capt), A Cusack, G Dockrell, T Johnston, E Joyce, A McBrine, J Mooney, T Murtagh, K O'Brien, N O'Brien, J Shannon, M Sorensen, P Stirling, S Thompson, G Wilson.

I-Cup Final: Porterfield, Dockrell, Johnston, Joyce, Mooney, Murtagh, K O'Brien, N O'Brien, Sorensen, Stirling, Thompson, A White, Wilson.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph