Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Home Sport Cricket

Armagh to host the champions in first home game back on the big stage

By Ian Callender

Armagh's first home game in the NCU Premier League next season will be against defending champions Waringstown.

Last year's Section One champions return to the top flight for the first time in more than 50 years with a game at Muckamore on the last Saturday of April but the fixture schedule pulled out a plum for them the following week with the glamour game against the team which won four trophies last season, including the Irish Senior Cup.

Waringstown start the 14-game campaign at home to Carrickfergus, and if the title comes down to the last match, CIYMS, the team they pipped on run-rate this year, will be the visitors.

There are no fixtures on Saturday, May 12, to allow players and supporters to attend the second day of Ireland's first Test match, against Pakistan at Malahide.

April 28: CSNI​ v Instonians; Muckamore ​v Armagh; North Down​ v CIYMS; Waringstown​ v Carrickfergus.

May 5: Armagh​ v Waringstown; Carrickfergus​ v CIYMS; Instonians​ v North Down; Muckamore​ v CSNI.

May 19: Instonians ​v Waringstown

June 2: Carrickfergus​ v Armagh; CIYMS​ v Instonians; North Down​ v Muckamore; Waringstown​ v CSNI.

June 16: Armagh​ v CIYMS; CSNI​ v Carrickfergus; Muckamore​ v Instonians; Waringstown​ v North Down.

June 23: Armagh​ v CSNI; Carrickfergus​ v North Down; CIYMS​ v Muckamore.

June 30: Carrickfergus​ v Instonians; CSNI​ v CIYMS; North Down​ v Armagh; Waringstown​ v Muckamore.

July 7: Armagh ​v Instonians; CIYMS​ v Waringstown; CSNI​ v North Down; Muckamore​ v Carrickfergus.

July 14: CIYMS​ v Carrickfergus; CSNI​ v Muckamore; North Down​ v Instonians; Waringstown​ v Armagh.

July 21: Armagh ​v Muckamore; Carrickfergus v Waringstown; CIYMS​ v North Down; Instonians ​v CSNI.

July 28: Armagh ​v Carrickfergus; CSNI​ v Waringstown; Instonians​ v CIYMS; Muckamore​ v North Down.

August 4: Carrickfergus v CSNI; CIYMS​ v Armagh; Instonians​ v Muckamore; North Down​ v Waringstown.

August 11: CSNI​ v Armagh; Muckamore​ v CIYMS; North Down​ v Carrickfergus; Waringstown​ v Instonians.

August 18: Armagh ​v North Down; CIYMS​ v CSNI; Instonians​ v Carrickfergus; Muckamore​ v Waringstown.

August 25: Carrickfergus v Muckamore; Instonians​ v Armagh; North Down​ v CSNI; Waringstown​ v CIYMS.

• Rohit Sharma smashed a record-equalling century as India beat Sri Lanka by 88 runs in Indore to clinch a 2-0 lead in their three-match Twenty20 series.

Sharma ran up his 50 in 23 balls before reaching his century in 35 balls, the joint fastest in T20 internationals.

The Indian captain fell to Dushmantha Chameera on 118 but the damage was done and Lokesh Rahul boosted India with 89 as they reached 260 for five.

Sri Lanka lost opener Niroshan Dickwella for 25 but had a second-wicket stand of 109 between Upul Tharanga and Kusal Perera.

But when Tharanga was caught and bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal on 47 it started a Sri Lankan collapse which would see them lose all their remaining wickets for just 17 runs.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph