| 1.1°C Belfast

Ballyspallen and Ardmore ease through to semi-finals with comprehensive victories



Gary Neely

Gary Neely

Gary Neely

Ballyspallen and Ardmore completed the line-up for today's North West Senior Cup semi-final draw with comprehensive victories in yesterday's delayed last eight games.

Ardmore topped 250 and won by 141 runs despite Eglinton professional Mike Erlank top scoring in the game with 59, and Ballyspallen defended 132 in their home tie against Strabane for a 50 runs success.

Only Jared Wilson raised his bat for 50 in the Ardmore innings, but it came at a run-a-ball with four fours and three sixes. He was seventh out in the 47th over with the total on 218 but Ciaran Curley took 16 off four balls in the penultimate over before Andrew Millar had him caught, going for his third six.

The total was still far too many for Eglinton who lost their first three wickets for one run, Gary Neely striking with the first ball of his first two overs and before the Ireland international came off after six overs, he had added the wicket of Robbie Millar to leave last year's beaten finalists on 19-4.

A stand of 75 between Erlank and Jamie Millar followed but after Millar's dismissal, bowled by Lee Brolly, Eglinton lost their last six wickets for 18, Decker Curry finishing the match with his third wicket in the 31st over.

Only five players reached double figures in the low scoring game at Bridge Park with both scorecards dominated by wides.

The errant bowling started early with the opening stand of 31 between Andy Christie and Kyle Morrow putting on 31, yet both batsmen were out for nine! Ballyspallen's Jamie Millar hit five of his side's 12 boundaries, but when he was out for 34 in the 30th over, the home team were in trouble at 96-7.

Two more wickets followed in the next six balls but Paul McIlmoyle and Andrew Scott added 32 for the last wicket which proved to be the highest stand of the day.

But the Strabane innings never got going. It started with three maiden overs and when they lost their second wicket in the 11th over, the total was just 12.

Professional Chathura Peiris hit 18 from as many balls, with two fours and a six, but he was third out with the total on 34 and despite a rearguard 17 from 75 by Tommy Barr, they were all out for 82 in the 39th over.

The semi-final draw is at 1.15 today, live on Radio Foyle, with holders Brigade and Glendermott, the other teams in the hat.

Because of the inter-provincials in Dublin, there was no Premier League action but, in Section One of the Robinson Services League, Cregagh produced one of the more remarkable turnarounds inside 24 hours.

The basement side were bowled out for 84 by Donaghcloney Mill but yesterday posted the highest total of the season in the division, 358-6 against Holywood.

Aaron Johnston and Jay Hunter both scored centuries which was more than the entire Holywood team managed, bowled out for 89, and a crushing 269 runs defeat.



Bleachgreen: Ardmore 253-9 (50 overs, J Wilson 56, R Brolly 46, C Curley 34, P Pienaar 27, D Curry 24; S Dunn 2-40, A Millar 2-43, S Dunn 2-44) Eglinton 112 (30.3 overs, M Erlank 59, J Millar 35; G Neely 3-8, D Curry 3-15, L Brolly 3-29). Ardmore won by 141 runs.

Bridge Park: Ballyspallen 132 (37 overs, J Millar 34; R Gallagher 3-31, B Govindasamy 2-11) Strabane 82 (38.5 overs; M Averill 3-11, S Kennedy 3-18, J Millar 2-23). Ballyspallen won by 50 runs.


Seapark: Cregagh 358-6 (A Johnston 108, J Hunter 104, J Moore 65) Holywood 89 (P McComick 49; A Beattie 4-28, A Skelton 3-17, A Carey 2-9). Cregagh won 269 runs.

Queensway: Bangor 171-8 (40 overs, A McCusker 54, C Burns 36; D Poulton 3-34, C Moorhead 2-24, C Lewis 2-33) Derriaghy 148 (M Jennings 43, R Bailey 30, C Lewis 26; M Grossett 3-12, J Bates 2-26, A Nixon 2-31, T Khan 2-49). Bangor won by 23 runs.

Belfast Telegraph

Top Videos