Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Donemana yet again without international star McBrine


Still absent: Andy McBrine is on international duty
Still absent: Andy McBrine is on international duty

By Ian Callender

Donemana will be without Ireland international Andy McBrine for a third successive Saturday when they travel to Ballyspallen for tomorrow's Long's SuperValu Premiership clash.

The North West Warriors captain played in the side's opening league win against Glendermott but missed both the Senior Cup and Premiership games against Coleraine because of his Ireland duties.

It has been something of a mixed blessing for McBrine because, while Donemana have won both games in his absence, he has not been selected for any of the internationals so far and it will be little different today, with McBrine involved in an Ireland training session ahead of the ODI against Afghanistan at Stormont on Sunday while his club-mates will aim to extend their lead at the top of the table.

Brigade, the other team to have won their two games, are at Coleraine, while either Glendermott and Strabane will record their first league win of the season in their game at The Rectory.

All eight Premiership sides are also in action tonight with the first round of matches in this season's Faughan Valley Cup, which with sponsorship from the White Horse Hotel has been renamed the White Horse T20 Blitz, which also incorporates the Eric Cooke Cup for Championship sides.

The teams will play each other once between now and the end of July, with the majority of games on Friday nights; the top two going through to finals day at Strabane Park on Sunday, August 11.

Strabane host holders Brigade tonight, with Bready, last year's beaten finalists, also away at Eglinton.

FIXTURES - Tonight (6.30): White Horse T20 Blitz - Faughan Valley Cup: Coleraine v Ballyspallen, Donemana v Bready, Eglinton v Glendermott, Strabane v Brigade. Eric Cooke Cup: Newbuildings v Ardmore

Tomorrow (1.00): Long's SuperValu Premiership: Ballyspallen v Donemana, Coleraine v Brigade, Eglinton v Bready, Glendermott v Strabane.

Championship: Ardmore v Bonds Glen, Burndennett v St Johnston, Killyclooney v Fox Lodge.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph