| 5.9°C Belfast

Drummond fires Muckamore to unlikely triumph

irish cup cricket

Chris Dougherty

Muckamore took pride of place on an excellent day for NCU clubs in the Clear Treasury Irish Senior Cup as all but debutants Armagh, of the six teams in action, reached the second round.

At 48 for six, chasing Malahide's 212, it looked over and out for Muckamore but no-one told Craig Drummond.

Thirty overs later, and with 11 balls to spare, he had scored 108 not out to take the Moylena side to a thrilling one wicket win.

Batting at No 7, Drummond shared a seventh wicket stand of 108 with his skipper, Neil Gill, to get the visitors back on course and he then scored all but five of remaining 60 runs to post one of the great Irish Cup centuries.

In all there were three individual hundreds in the 12 first round games and all were scored by NCU players.

Top of the pile was Mark Ellison's 131 for Civil Service North in a remarkable scorecard at Bready.

Ellison, who hit 15 fours and two sixes, and Aaron Wright put on 166 for the fourth wicket but the third top score was eight. The total of 243-8 was still 73 runs too good for the home side who were all out in the 47th over.

Chris Dougherty dominated the CIYMS innings at Belmont with 122 (13 fours and a six) of his side's 220 and when Nigel Jones and Allen Coulter reduced North County to 37 for six in reply there was no way back for the five-time winners whose last success was in 2008.

Carrickfergus, impressively, accounted for Coleraine by 119 runs with Jack Burton and Daniel Poulton adding 121 for the fourth wicket, which was three more than the visitors managed in total as Ryan Eagleson finished with five wickets.

North Down eased past Fox Lodge by five wickets, thanks to Ally Shields' 80, but Armagh lost their first ever Irish Cup tie to Balbriggan by nine wickets despite an unbeaten 49 from Colin Russell.

SCORES: Belmont: CIYMS 220 (48.4 overs, C Dougherty 122, J Mulder 35; E Richardson 3-40, M Nofal 3-41) North County 113 (35.4 overs, M Nofal 59; N Jones 4-32, T Britton 2-8, A Coulter 2-25). CIYMS won by 117 runs.

The Mall: Armagh 164 (50 overs, C Russell 49 not out; E Ahmed 3-41, F Nazar 2-23, E Uddin 2-23, T Amruma 2-28) Balbriggan 168-1 (29.5 overs, C Fletcher 88 not out, F Nazar 37 not out, A Harpur 22). Balbriggan won by 9 wickets.

The Village: Malahide 212-6 (G Ford 80, P Chase 40 not out; F Iqbal 2-25, P Khartik 2-38) Muckamore 216-9 (48.1 overs, C Drummond 108 not out, N Gill 32; J Newland 5-20, D O'Halloran 2-13). Muckamore won by 1 wicket.

Middle Road: Carrickfergus 237-8 (J Burton 87, D Poulton 65, I Parkhill 26, M Gilmour 22; S Campbell 4-42) Coleraine 118 (40.4 overs, G Hume 30, M Poskitt 28; R Eagleson 5-15, A Martin 2-26). Carrickfergus won by 119 runs.

Ballymagorry: Fox Lodge 165 (47.1 overs, B Allen 62, L Hayes 30, C Tshiki 21; S Nelson 3-27, M Grossett 2-42) North Down 169-5 (32 overs, A Shields 80, R Pretorius 26; L Finlay 2-23). North Down won by 5 wickets.

Magheramason: Civil Service North 243-8 (M Ellison 131, A Wright 69; C Young 4-33, D Scnalon 3-40) Bready 170 (46.4 overs, I Samarasooriya 42, A Lucas 38 not out, R Barr 26; B Adair 3-18, S Ross 3-39, G McCarter 2-31, A Malan 2-43). Civil Service North won by 73 runs.

Belfast Telegraph