Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Five new faces added to Cricket Australia’s contracted player list

Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye are among three new fast bowlers on the list.

Three new fast bowlers have been added to Cricket Australia’s 2018-19 contracted player list as part of a revamped line-up following the bans given to Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft.

Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye have been awarded CA contracts for the first time as the list’s focus on limited-over specialists reflects the cricket calendar.

Australia will be hoping to retain their Cricket World Cup title in England and Wales in 2019, having won on home soil in 2015.

Marcus Stoinis and wicket-keeper Alex Carey are the other new additions to the list.

Selector Trevor Hohns said: “We think this a well-balanced list to represent Australia across all three formats.

“This period is set to include a significant amount of limited-overs cricket, including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales.

“For that reason, there has been a bit of a focus in this contracting period on white-ball cricket, as we look ahead to trying to win back-to-back World Cups.”

New Test captain Tim Paine is also on the 20-man list while Adam Zampa – Australia’s second-best T20 bowler according to the ICC rankings – misses out.

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad can earn upgrades, with players receiving five points for a Test, two for an ODI and one for a T20I and needing 12 for a promotion.

The full list is: Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Matthew Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis and Andrew Tye.


From Belfast Telegraph