| 3°C Belfast

Gillespie leaves it late but Red Caps will fly flag for North West



Last gasp: Aaron Gillespie won the game for Strabane

Last gasp: Aaron Gillespie won the game for Strabane

Last gasp: Aaron Gillespie won the game for Strabane

Strabane will be the only North West side in the draw for the second round of the Irish Cup.

The players who had to make the longest journey were rewarded with a four-runs victory against Cork County, but even they had a late scare as Cork's last wicket pair put on 36 before Aaron Gillespie struck with the fourth ball of the final over.

There was an even more dramatic finish at Donemana as Andrew Riddles, in his first game of the season, and William McBrine could score only four runs from the first five balls of the last over and, still needing two to win from the last, Riddles was bowled by new Test player Tyrone Kane.

Brigade failed to repeat Donemana's success at Clontarf as they went down tamely by 102 runs and Eglinton, at home to Leinster and Ardmore, at Phoenix, also lost convincingly.

The Mardyke: Strabane 222-8 (P Gillespie 82, R Logue 40, R Gallagher 31; M Bauer 4-44, D Carey 2-42) Cork County 218 (49.4 overs, R Durity 51, S Meads 28 not out, C Hassett 28, R Duggan 26; R Gallagher 4-31). Strabane won by 4 runs.

The Holm: Merrion 295-7 (J Anderson 78, D Joyce 72, J Carty 72, P Tice 32; G Boyd 3-44) Donemana 294 (50 overs, A McBrine 90, G McClintock 85, M Cooray 32; T Kane 3-30, P Mehta 3-45, J Carty 2-37). Merrion won by 1 run.

Castle Avenue: Clontarf 263-7 (O Pienaar 92, W Azmat 50, B Coghlan 46; J Thompson 2-38, A Britton 2-52, J Robinson 2-60) Brigade 161 (38.2 overs, J Thompson 59, G McKeegan 23, D Barr 21; O Pienaar 3-44, S Dutt 2-14, D Delany 2-25, C Kelly 2-34). Clontarf won by 102 runs

Eglinton: Eglinton 217-7 (K O'Doherty 40, M Erlank 39, S Thompson 36, R Allen 30, C Pierce 21 not out; G Dockrell 2-26, F Conaty 2-28, A Hamad 2-31) Leinster 221-3 (40 overs, G Dockrell 64 not out, J Carroll 55 not out, M Patil 37, I O'Herlihy 34, G Delany 25; R Allen 2-46). Leinster won by 7 wickets.

Phoenix Park: Ardmore 190 (45.2 overs, K Martin 60, D Curry 34; F Coutts 3-38, B White 3-43, R Anders 2-23) Phoenix 192-4 (41.2 overs, R Lawrence 74 not out, B Kneebone 63; G Neely 2-20). Phoenix won by 6 wickets.

Starting tonight (6.30): Long's SuperValu Premiership: Brigade v Coleraine

Belfast Telegraph