Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

High five for NCU in Irish Cup despite rain delays


Roaring success: Allen Coulter celebrates getting the wicket of Merrion batsman Olly Newman
during yesterday’s match at CIYMS
Roaring success: Allen Coulter celebrates getting the wicket of Merrion batsman Olly Newman during yesterday’s match at CIYMS

By Ian Callender

The NCU will have five clubs in the last eight of the Irish Senior Cup after a memorable day when the only team to miss out were North Down, who lost the all-Premier League tie against Civil Service North.

Holders Waringstown, in a dramatic finish, beat Malahide by two runs while Carrickfergus produced the result of the day to beat Leinster cup specialists Clontarf by 15 runs. Instonians eased past Rush by 120 runs and in a surprisingly straightforward win, CIYMS beat Leinster league champions Merrion, who have failed to reach the quarter-finals for the first time since 2006.

All the matches were rain-affected but, much to the relief of NCU officials who feared a backlog if the games had needed the reserve day, all were completed.

Waringstown were behind on the DLS par score until skipper Greg Thompson ran out Cameron Shoebridge at Malahide to put them two runs ahead. The rain then came on and the teams left the field, never to return.

It was sweet revenge for Thompson, who had been caught behind off Shoebridge for a superb 75 from 73 balls (10 fours and a six), while Lee Nelson provided the glue with 77 from 115 balls as Waringstown were bowled out for 237.

League champions CIYMS welcomed back Trevor Britton after illness into a four-pronged spin attack and they shared seven wickets, including one for Britton, as Merrion, without Tyrone Kane, were restricted to 134-9 in 30 overs.

John Matchett was the only wicket to fall when the first rain break came after 16 overs, with CIYMS seven runs ahead on DLS and although they were set a revised target of 102 in 23 overs, only eight more balls were possible when the rain returned with CI still comfortably ahead.

It was the same story at Comber where Civil Service were always ahead after Andre Malan's 145. He came to the middle at the start of the eighth over and was out to the penultimate ball, having hit 14 fours and two sixes in the 244-6. North Down were up against it after losing their top three for 17 and they finished 15 runs behind after the second and terminal rain interruption.

Carrickfergus professional Jacques Snyman hit 107 off 78 balls (six fours, six sixes) out of 255-8 and after Ashwin Shetty and Alex Haggan reduced Clontarf to 35-3 they never recovered.

Nicolai Smith and Olly Metcalfe put on 110 for Instonians' first wicket and they never looked back but the North West interest is over before the quarters with Bready and Strabane going out, the Red Caps losing by 16 runs after dismissing Leinster for 121.

Irish Senior Cup Second Round

Belmont: Merrion 134-9 (J Groom 30, J Anderson 29; O Pienaar 3-29, A Coulter 2-17, J Mulder 2-23) CIYMS 74-1 (17.2 overs, C Dougherty 23 not out).

CIYMS won by nine runs (DLS).

The Green: Civil Service North 244-6 (A Malan 145, M Ellison 29, G Wilson 28; P Eakin 3-41, P Davison 2-40) North Down 218-9 (R Pretorius 58, P Eakin 36, C Young 34, H Coulter 27 not out, C Robinson 24; G McCarter 3-26). Civil Service North won by 15 runs (DLS).

Kenure: Instonians 283-9 (N Smith 73, O Metcalfe 53, M Commins 48, J Manley 43 not out; J Barnes 4-32, Neary 3-60, Coffey 2-48) Rush 163 (J Snyman 67, N McGuire 47; J Manley 4-31, S Getkate 2-40). Instonians won by 120 runs.

Rathmines: Leinster 121 (M Patel 26, S Bahadur 21, A Tonge 20; R Gallagher 4-31, T Barr 3-8) Strabane 105 (33.1 overs, A Gillespie 45; B Azhar 5-28, H Venter 2-21). Leinster won by 16 runs.

Castle Avenue: Carrickfergus 255-8 (J Snyman 107, CJ van der Walt 49, M Gilmour 40, M Burton 20; M Butler 2-26, J Morrissey 2-41, Shariful Islam 2-48) Clontarf 180-6 (40.1 overs, E Delany 68 not out, A Vincent 53; A Shetty 2-19, A Haggan 2-39). Carrickfergus won by 14 runs (DLS).

The Village: Waringstown 237 (49.3 overs, L Nelson 77, G Thompson 75, J McCollum 22, M McClean 20; M Ford 3-57, K Donnelly 2-41) Malahide 196-7 (42.3 overs, A Muntha 92, D Mortimer 39, M Ford 24; L Nelson 3-39, G Kidd 2-60). Waringstown won by two runs (DLS).

Magheramason: Bready 156 (48.1 overs, I Samarasooriya 48.1 overs, C Olphert 21; S Singh 3-23, B White 2-14, A Sudhu 2-30, M Lunson 2-39) Phoenix 157-2 (32 overs, B Beecroft 89, A Chester 36 not out). Phoenix won by eight wickets.

Sydney Parade: Pembroke 328 (L Tucker 126, T Lawson 75, A Balbirnie 55) The Hills 163 (B Lakhotia 62 P Lawson 3-8). Pembroke won by 165 runs.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph