Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Injured Mooney to miss World T20

All-rounder John Mooney has been left out of Ireland's squad for the World Twenty20 due to a fractured finger.

Mooney is the only major omission from an experienced 15-man squad, that includes soon-to-be retired Boyd Rankin, after it was confirmed the 30-year-old would miss up to three months.

"It's disappointing for both John (Mooney) and the team," coach Phil Simmons said. "He's suffered two finger injuries and this latest one won't heal in time for the start of the tournament. He's been a major part of the team for the last three or four years and it's disappointing we have to go without him."

He added: "This will give others an opportunity to push for his place and stake a claim. We have guys who can come in and fill the spot and if selected can hopefully fill the role of John Mooney."

Fast bowler Rankin has been selected despite revealing he would retire from Irish duty after the tournament to focus on his England ambitions.

Rankin, who has recently returned from a foot injury with county side Warwickshire, turned down new deals from Ireland in a bid to fulfil his desire to play Test cricket.

The 28-year-old is an experienced campaigner in a squad that contains six players to have played in all of Ireland's four major competition appearances.

"That for me is the good thing. Everybody has been there before and knows what's expected of them," added former West Indies all-rounder Simmons. "It's good for the younger players who will learn how we do things and how we proceed at tournaments."

Will Porterfield will captain the squad that includes Tim Murtagh, Max Sorensen and Stuart Thompson - all of whom have been named to play in a major competition for the first time. Ireland will open their Group B campaign against West Indies in Colombo on September 19 before meeting Australia - who reached the final two years ago - in their second and final group game five days later.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.


From Belfast Telegraph