Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Ireland bowlers getting into their groove ahead of qualifiers quest


Mark Adair
Mark Adair

By Ian Callender

It was only a warm-up match but Ireland's 30-run victory over Netherlands yesterday was one of their most impressive for some time.

Four days out from their opening game at the T20 World Cup qualifiers, the Ireland bowlers were the stars as they bowled out a strong Dutch side, including Essex captain Ryan ten Doeschate, for 126.

Craig Young took two wickets in his first five balls and bowled 11 'dot' balls in his four overs, Mark Adair took three wickets in the last over and George Dockrell conceded just seven runs in his two overs and claimed the match-winning wicket.

Ten Doeschate, who is expected to be one of the stars of the qualifying tournament, had just hit Boyd Rankin for two sixes to leave the Dutch needing 45 from three overs but after scoring 46 from 34 balls he holed out to the cover boundary and Ireland coasted to the finish line.

After being put in to bat, Ireland were restricted to 49-3 in the six-over powerplay, mainly because they lost Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie and Kevin O'Brien, but this time there was no collapse with skipper Gary Wilson leading the charge.

Wilson hit 44 from 32 balls with five fours and a six and with Adair hitting two sixes as he maintained the momentum with 24 from 13 balls, Ireland scored 72 from the last eight overs with boundaries in all but three of them.

After their day trip to Dubai, Ireland returned to Abu Dhabi last night where they play all six group games and meet Scotland today in the remaining warm-up match.

Six of the seven winning teams yesterday came from Ireland's group with UAE beating Scotland by 37 runs and only the lowest ranked team, Nigeria, losing to a Group A side (Bermuda).

Scores: Ireland 156-8 (G Wilson 44, M Adair 24, H Tector 21, K O'Brien 17, G Delany 15, A Balbirnie 12) Netherlands 126 (20 overs, R ten Doeschate 46, T Visee 30; C Young 3-21, M Adair 3-28, G Dockrell 1-7 (2 overs), G Delany 1-24, B Rankin 1-37). Ireland won by 30 runs.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph