Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

John Anderson strikes to give Leinster Lightning the upper hand over Northern Knights

By Ian Callender

An innings of the highest quality by John Anderson put Leinster Lightning in control of their inter-provincial championship game against Northern Knights.

Although rain cut short the first day by 73 minutes, Lightning still passed 300 for the loss of three wickets and, worryingly for the home attack, not only is Anderson still there to resume this morning on 135, but fellow Ireland international Andrew Poynter has just got his eye in, 19 not out from 48 balls.

Captain Anderson has played only 17 times for Ireland but in three Intercontinental Cup matches he averages 51 with a top score of 127. He again showed his class with a superbly compiled and, so far, chanceless innings with his first 50 taking 102 balls but his second 50 only 57 and his latest 35 has come off just 30. He has hit 18 boundaries.

Lightning's debutant Sean Terry was the first wicket, caught at backward point, but he also gave chances on 8 and 13 while Nikolai Smith, by far the most impressive Knights bowler, forced Dom Joyce to chop on after a patient and faultless 71.

Meanwhile, eight of the players involved in the match, including Terry, have been named in the Ireland A squad for next week's match against MCC at Bready. Andy McBrine is captain and Stuart Thompson, with 47 senior caps, is the only other North West Warrior in a squad of eight full internationals.

James Vince is ready for a piece of the action with England's team of entertainers as he stands on the verge of his "ultimate goal" of Test cricket. Vince, set to make his bow at number five against Sri Lanka at Headingley in the first Test, has had to wait for his chance to join contemporaries Joe Root and Ben Stokes at the highest level.

Inter-provincial championship: Leinster Lightning first innings 306-3 (90 overs, J Anderson 135 not out, D Joyce 71, S Terry 32, S Singh 20) v Northern Knights. Today 11am-6.30am.

Ireland A (v MCC): A McBrine, Yaqoob Ali, P Chase, C Dougherty, T Kane, G McCarter, E Richardson, J Shannon, J Tector, S Terry, S Thompson, L Tucker

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph