Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

McCarthy back from illness to help Lightning strike Warriors


Fit again: Barry McCarthy has recovered from chest infection
Fit again: Barry McCarthy has recovered from chest infection

By Ian Callender

Barry McCarthy returns to the Leinster Lightning squad for tomorrow's Interprovincial Cup game against Northern Knights at Pembroke (10.45am) after missing last week's three-day game against North West Warriors and the T20 Festival weekend with a chest infection.

The Ireland international has appeared in only four one-day internationals in the last 12 months but played in the Tri-Series against West Indies and Bangladesh last month and the last ODI against Afghanistan at Stormont.

The other change from the Championship game in Bready last week is Josh Little, to the exclusion of Fionn Hand and Rory Anders.

Lightning have already beaten Knights in 50-over action, a six wickets victory in La Manga in April when internationals Andrew Balbirnie and Lorcan Tucker put on 162 for the third wicket.

The Knights had still not announced their squad last night.

The Ireland squads for the one-day and T20 internationals against Zimbabwe, plus the Wolves side for their game on Saturday and the Ireland Under-19 squad for the World Cup qualifiers next month, are all due to be named today.

Zimbabwe arrive in Northern Ireland from Holland where they squared the T20 series in Rotterdam last night with a Super Over victory in the second match.

Elton Chigumbura hit the first two balls of the 20th over for six to tie the scores, but he failed to score off the third, was bowled from the fourth and Roelof van der Merwe then bowled Chris Mpofu with the next ball. No.11 Tendai Chatara was run out off the final ball to leave the scores tied and force the Super Over, which they won 18 runs to nine.

The Dutch won both ODIs against Zimbabwe, by two wickets and three wickets, chasing 291 in the second match, and the first T20 by 49 runs.

Lightning squad: G Dockrell (capt), A Balbirnie, P Chase, S Doheny, G Delany, T Kane, J Little, B McCarthy, K O'Brien, S Singh, J Tector, L Tucker.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph