| 14.3°C Belfast

Morgan heads the England squad to tackle Irish in ODIs



Eoin Morgan (Nick Potts/PA)

Eoin Morgan (Nick Potts/PA)

Eoin Morgan (Nick Potts/PA)

England have named a 24-man training group from which the teams for the one-day international series against Ireland at the end of the month will be selected.

Led by Eoin Morgan - he is one of five survivors from the team which faced Ireland at Malahide last year - it includes Jonny Bairstow and Moeen Ali, who were dropped from the Test match squad currently facing West Indies.

James Vince, David Willey, Tom Curran and Adil Rashid, along with Morgan, are all likely to face Ireland again, but Dawid Malan, who opened the batting with Vince last year, is injured. Joe Root, Joe Denly and Jofra Archer are all on Test duty, Bairstow replaces Ben Foakes as wicket keeper and Liam Plunkett has been excluded.

There are seven uncapped players in the group - although unlikely to play in the ODIs - which moves to the bio-secure Ageas Bowl venue at Southampton next Thursday and will play intra-squad practices on July 21 and 24. The group will also provide the England Lions squad to face Ireland on July 26.

Training group: E Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, J Bairstow, T Banton, S Billings, H Brookes, B Carse, T Curran, L Dawson, B Duckett, L Evans, R Gleeson, L Gregory, S Hain, T Helm, L Livingstone, S Mahmood, M Parkinson, A Rashid, J Roy, P Salt, R Topley, J Vince, D Willey.

Belfast Telegraph