Philander fumes at Archer's risky deliveries
Jofra Archer finds himself in the middle of a beamer row after South Africa's Vernon Philander hinted that the England seamer should have been removed from the attack on day two of the Boxing Day Test.
Archer was bowling to nightwatchman Anrich Nortje late on a difficult second day for the tourists in Centurion - they closed 175 behind with six second-innings wickets still to take after being bowled out for 181 - when he sent down successive high full tosses.
Neither delivery was propelled at the breakneck pace Archer is capable of, with both appearing to be botched variations on his slower 'knuckle ball', but Nortje was visibly rattled as he twice collapsed to the turf to avoid being struck. The first was called as a no-ball and had the second been treated similarly, Archer would not have been able to bowl again in the match.
Square-leg umpire Paul Reiffel made the no-ball signal after the second delivery, which passed just over the stumps but went past Nortje at a greater elevation, though the standing umpire Chris Gaffaney did not call it.
Match referee Andy Pycroft is understood to have spoken to England captain Joe Root about the incident and Archer is cleared to continue on day three.
Philander had earlier bowled outstandingly as he claimed four for 16 and was just as uncompromising as he assessed the drama surrounding his fellow paceman.
"The umpires have to deal with it and make the right call," he said.
"I suppose if you're at square leg and you call 'no-ball' you've got to stand your ground.
"For me it's plain and simple, we're playing a game and we're setting an example for the rest of the people coming into this game.
"Are we going to tolerate it at another game or are we going to put a stop to it right here?"
Asked if his disciplined performance was an example that elaborate but risky variations were not necessary, Philander added: "That's why it's called the purest format: don't try silly things that can cost you not bowling another ball in the innings."