| 4.6°C Belfast

Sorensen hopes to impress as Inter-Pros begin



Game on: Max Sorensen

Game on: Max Sorensen

©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Game on: Max Sorensen

Eight of Ireland's Test match squad return to provincial duty tomorrow night when the Twenty20 Trophy begins in Belfast and Dublin.

James Shannon leads the Northern Knights against North West Warriors - for whom William Porterfield makes his T20 debut - at Stormont (5pm), the game switched to the international ground from Carrick, who still hope to host Coleraine in the Irish Senior Cup on Saturday.

Meanwhile, at Pembroke, Leinster Lightning face a vastly understrength Munster Reds, who have been forced to give up home advantage because The Mardyke remains unplayable.

The most interesting name in the Reds side is the experienced Max Sorensen, who could be asked to make himself available for an Ireland recall if he impresses with bat and ball.

A genuine all-rounder who played 68 times for Ireland, Sorensen announced his retirement from international cricket last year when continually overlooked by previous coach John Bracewell, but Sorensen's fellow-South African Graham Ford has said anyone who stars in the inter-pros will put themselves in the frame for selection for next month's Tri-Series with Netherlands and Scotland in Holland.

Sorensen, who is one of seven debutants in the Munster line-up, played 40 T20 internationals for Ireland but, remarkably, batted in only 15 of them with a top score of 26. He remains a big hitter seemingly suited to the game's shortest format, but his bowling figures also stand up; in 65 overs with the ball he took 26 wickets at an average of just 18.

TEAMS - Knights: J Shannon (capt), M Adair, S Getkate, N Jones, G Kidd, J McCollum, J Mulder, N Rock, A Shields, Nik Smith, H Tector, G Thompson. (Smith, McKinley inj).

Warriors: A McBrine (capt), R Allen, A Britton, R-L Dougherty, A Gillespie, G Kennedy, S Lazaars, W Porterfield, D Rankin, D Scanlon, S Thompson, C Young.

Lightning: G Dockrell (capt), J Anderson, A Balbirnie, J Carroll, P Chase, G Delany, T Kane, J Little, K O'Brien, S Singh, S Terry, L Tucker (Richardson unav).

Reds: J Tector (capt), Yaqoob Ali, T Anders, M Bauer, J Benton, J Carty, R Forrest, S Doheny, J Grassi, R Jones, M Sorensen, Murtaza Sidiqi.

Belfast Telegraph