Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Strabane give themselves a chance to beat drop with win


Champions: Andy Britton receives Premiership trophy from Connie McAllister
Champions: Andy Britton receives Premiership trophy from Connie McAllister

By Ian Callender

Strabane have a second chance to preserve their top flight status after beating champions Brigade in their final match yesterday by 68 runs.

But Ballyspallen virtually relegated themselves when they refused to continue their home game against Glendermott and the umpires awarded the match to the Rectory side who finished fifth in the table, just above Coleraine, who beat Eglinton on Saturday to ensure their Long's SuperValu Premiership safety.

Graham Kennedy bowled only one ball in Ballyspallen's game yesterday - it was a wide - before reportedly slipping in the run-up on his second and third deliveries. Ballyspallen, who started the day one point above Glendermott, claimed the conditions were unplayable, the umpires disagreed and when the home side refused to continue, they awarded the match and 25 points to Glendermott.

Strabane were grateful Brigade skipper Andy Britton did not bowl himself until the 43rd over when the Red Caps were 184-6. Britton took the last four wickets in his only 14 balls!

Strabane will meet Burndennett in the promotion/relegation play-off, probably at Bready on Saturday, after Ardmore won the Championship and automatic promotion, completing back to back victories, the decisive one against Killyclooney yesterday. Decker Curry, fittingly, was there at the finish and he then announced his retirement.


Strabane Park: Strabane 213 (47.2 overs, C Peiris 116, K Gallagher 36; A Britton 4-18, R Gaur 2-20, J Thompson 2-21) Brigade 145 (34.4 overs, D Barr 26, J Thompson 20; R Logue 5-36, K Purewal 2-22). Strabane won by 68 runs.

Bridge Park: Ballyspallen 1-0 (0.0 overs) v Glendermott. Abandoned. Match awarded to Glendermott.


Bleachgreen: Killyclooney 134 (39 overs, A Henry 27, G Moan 21; J Wilson 4-25, G Neely 2-16, L Brolly 2-30) Ardmore 135-1 (23 overs, P Pienaar 55*, D Curry 41*, P McDowell 24). Ardmore won by 9 wickets.

Ballymagorry: Fox Lodge 69 (21.1 overs, M Snodgrass 3-18, M Roulston 3-21, A McDermott 2-8, S Ahmed 2-21) Burndennett 72-1 (12.2 overs, S Ahmed 54 not out). Burndennett won by 9 wickets.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph