Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Home Sport Cricket

Warriors name strong squad as Knights face injury worries

By Ian Callender

The contrast between North West Warriors and Northern Knights going into this week's inter-provincial action could hardly be more stark.

While Warriors are able to name a virtually full-strength squad with only one difference between their 50-over team at Eglinton today (10.45am) and the championship game at Bready starting tomorrow, the injury-ravaged Knights have named 15 players across the two squads.

Five Knights players were not considered because of injury - captain James Shannon was not even mentioned in the Press release! - while three others were unavailable and Waringstown opener Adam Dennison is available for only the Cup game today.

There are two new faces in the championship side, Carrickfergus opening bowler Matty McCord and Civil Service batsman Aaron Wright who have impressed in the Emerging Knights programme, while Instonians' Stephen Bunting is included for the first time this season.

Boyd Rankin is still committed to Warwickshire this week and Rishi Copra is unavailable due to his graduation but David Scanlon has recovered from the back spasm which caused him to miss the finale to the T20 festival.

Donemana captain Ricky-Lee Dougherty plays for the first time as a specialist batsman - Niall O'Brien is included in both squads - but is replaced for the three-day game by David Barr.

Warriors must win today to prevent Leinster Lightning winning the 50-over competition, but victory in the championship, with 21 points, will be enough to end Lightning's reign as three-day champions.

Warriors (Today): A McBrine (capt), R Allen, R-L Dougherty, A Gillespie, G Kennedy, R Macbeth, N O'Brien, W Porterfield D Rankin, D Scanlon, S Thompson, C Young. (Championship) D Barr for Dougherty.

Knights (Today): S Getkate (capt), M Adair, S Bunting, A Dennison, C Dougherty, J Cameron-Dow, M Ellison, A Haggan, J McCollum, J Mulder, N Rock, H Tector

(Championship): S Getkate (capt), M Adair, J Cameron-Dow, C Dougherty, P Eaglestone, M Ellison, J McCollum, M McCord, J Mulder, N Rock, H Tector, A Wright

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph