| 15.2°C Belfast

Warriors pair called up for Proteas clashes


William McClintock. Credit: Colm Lenaghan

William McClintock. Credit: Colm Lenaghan

William McClintock. Credit: Colm Lenaghan

Graham Kennedy and William McClintock have been named in the Ireland squads for the first time for this month’s white-ball series against South Africa.

Kennedy, the North West Warriors and CIYMS all-rounder, is the one uncapped player in the ODI squad which will face the Proteas in three World Cup Super League games in Malahhide, on July 11, 13 and 16, while McClintock, the Donemana T20 captain, is in the squad for the three T20 internationals at Malahide on July 19 and at Stormont on July 22 and 24.

There is a recall to the T20 squad for Instonians’ Shane Getkate while uncapped Civil Service North leg spinner Ben White and Northern Knights wicket-keeper Neil Rock also have a chance of winning their first T20 caps.

Curtis Campher also makes a welcome return to the ODI squad, although he has yet to play a club game this season because of injury. Chairman of Selectors Andrew White confirmed he will play games before the first ODI but his bowling will be managed.

William Porterfield retains his place in the ODI squad, despite being dropped after the first two games in Netherlands last month but there is still no place for him in the T20 squad.

Due to Covid concerns for the Ireland players involved in Brigade centenary game and tribute match for Roy Torrens on Sunday, the game has been postponed.

Cricket Ireland took the difficult decision due to the rise in the Delta variant and with the Ireland players due to go into their bubble ahead of the South Africa series next Tuesday, they could not put them at risk.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

CI chief executive Warren Deutrom said: “Our hearts go out to all in Brigade and to Roy’s family but we will work with the Club and the Irish Cricketers’ Association on alternative plans, and continue to provide our support where we can.”

ODI squad: A Balbirnie (capt), M Adair, C Campher, G Dockrell, G Kennedy, J Little, A McBrine, G McCarter, B McCarthy, W Porterfield, S Singh, P Stirling, H Tector, L Tucker, C Young.

T20 squad: A Balbirnie, M Adair, G Dockrell, S Getkate, J Little, B McCarthy, W McClintock, K O’Brien, N Rock, S Singh, P Stirling, H Tector, L Tucker, B White, C Young.

Top Videos