West Indies Under-19s hit the headlines again
South Africa opening batsman Jiveshen Pillay was given out for obstructing the field.
West Indies were involved in another controversial dismissal at an Under-19 World Cup on Wednesday.
The Windies’ victory over Zimbabwe to reach the quarter-finals in 2016 was overshadowed by Keemo Paul’s last-over ‘Mankad’ when, with three runs needed from six balls with one wicket remaining, the seamer ran out the non-striker backing up.
And at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, South Africa opening batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for obstructing the field by the third umpire.
Pillay, on 47, threw the ball to the Windies wicketkeeper after it had stopped close to the stumps following an inside-edge, leading the West Indies players to appeal.
The Proteas overcame the incident to win the match, dismissing the Windies for 206 in pursuit of 283, but the umpires’ decision to dismiss Pillay received widespread criticism on social media.
Unbelievable dismissal in the U19 World Cup, SAvWI... Mother Cricket will sort this out but the Spirit of the Game should never, ever be in question!— Dougie Brown (@dougie1brown) January 17, 2018