| 14.2°C Belfast

Wolves get their chance to shine in one-day series against Scotland



Young leader: Harry Tector will captain Ireland Wolves

Young leader: Harry Tector will captain Ireland Wolves

�INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Young leader: Harry Tector will captain Ireland Wolves

A young Ireland Wolves side is set to be tested by an experienced Scotland A squad when the three-match 50-over series begins at Oak Hill, Co Wicklow today.

The Scots have named six players who have faced Ireland at senior level, while the Irish selectors will be monitoring the progress of fringe squad members Harry Tector, Peter Chase, Tyrone Kane and Jack Tector, and Lorcan Tucker gets a chance to shine as wicket-keeper.

One level down, the players hoping to make it into the Northern Knights and North West Warriors squads are in action at Moylena over the next two days in two 50-over games (11am starts).

The Emerging Knights, who also face Lightning Bolts at Woodvale on Thursday, have named 20 players across the three squads with only three set to be involved in all three games, Aditya Adey of Muckamore, Alex Haggan of Carrickfergus and CIYMS opening batsman John Matchett.

The Emerging Warriors have named Strabane's Aaron Gillespie as captain, a veteran of 32 senior games across all three formats, but the rest of the squad are mostly young players.

Muckamore won their first match in the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup last night, defeating Civil Service North by 13 runs, to keep alive their outside hopes of a semi-final place.

Scores - Stormont: Muckamore 150-6 (F Iqbal 54, A Adey 37; A Malan 3-26) Civil Service North 137-5 (A Malan 59, M Ellison 23; A Adey 2-14). Muckamore won by 13 runs.

Today's squads - Emerging Knights: M McCord (capt), J Matchett, A Johnston, CJ van der Walt, M Commins, S Gordon, M Burton, A Adey, A Haggan, J Hunter, C Robinson, S Bunting.

Emerging Warriors: A Gillespie (capt), T Orr, A McDaid, K Magee, R Logue, V Chopra, A Doherty, W Finlay, T McKeegan, B Mills, C Olphert, A Logue.

Tomorrow - Knights: R Adair, J Metcalfe, M Humphreys, J Mulder, J Magee replace Johnston, Commins, Gordon, Robinson, Bunting.

Warriors: M Rankin, C Graham, G McFaul replace Doherty, Logue, Finlay.

Belfast Telegraph