Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cycling

Conor shows his class to dig deep and clinch Tour of Ulster success

By Stuart McKInley

Conor Hennerby finished outside the top 10 in Stage 3, but held on to his overall lead to win the 2016 Tour of Ulster.

The Team Aquablue rider claimed victory by just eight seconds from his team-mate Sean Lacey after the 75.8-mile final stage, which involved seven laps of a 10-mile circuit around Moy.

Second-placed finishes on each of the first two days were enough to keep Hennerby at the top of the overall standings. He was just six seconds behind stage winner Marcus Christie from Omagh Wheelers.

Christie was among a three-rider group who launched an attack early in the day, joined by Eoin Morton (UCD FitzCycles) and Ronan McLaughlin (Foyle Racing Team).

They opened up a gap that wasn't closed until 32 miles in when Christie's team-mate Angus Fyffe joined him, with Sean Noon (Foyle Racing Team) moving in alongside his colleague McLaughlin.

Those five finished ahead of the rest, but couldn't make an impact on the leading riders, with the top 10 finishing the race in the same positions they had occupied after Stage 2.

TOUR OF ULSTER STAGE 3: 1. Marcus Christie (Omagh Wheelers CC) 2h54m52s, 2. Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers CC) 2h54m55s, 3. Eoin Morton (UCD FitzCycles) 2h54m55s.

OVERALL STANDINGS: 1. Conor Hennerby (Team Aquablue) 10h21m44s, 2. Sean Lacey (Team Aquablue) 10h21m52s, 3. Mark Dowling (Asea Wheelworx) 10h21m56s.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph