Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Earley names provisional squad

Ireland's International Rules manager Paul Earley has announced his provisional squad for the Test series against Australia later this month.

Fifteen counties are represented on a panel of 29 with Donegal's Michael Murphy confirmed as captain and Cork's Aidan Walsh vice-captain.

Mayo have the largest single representation on the panel with four, followed by Cork, Donegal, Laois and All-Ireland champions Dublin, who all have three each.

Galway, Tyrone and Monaghan have two each selected while Kildare, Derry, Westmeath, Armagh, Louth, Meath and Wexford are also represented.

Zach Tuohy (Carlton/Laois) is the only AFL-based player in the panel.

The first Test will take place at Kingspan Breffni Park on October 19, with the second being played at Croke Park on October 26.

Ireland panel; Michael Murphy (Donegal, captain), Aidan Walsh (Cork, vice captain), Paddy O' Rourke (Meath), Colm Begley (Laois), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Ciaran Byrne (Louth), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Paul Conroy (Galway), John Doyle (Kildare), Paul Flynn (Dublin), Finian Hanley (Galway), John Heslin (Westmeath), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Neil McGee (Donegal), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Ciaran McKeever (Armagh), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Ross Munnelly (Laois), Aidan O Se (Mayo), Ciaran Sheehan (Cork), M ichael Sheilds (Cork), Zach Tuohy (Carlton & Laois), Daithi Waters (Wexford).


From Belfast Telegraph