| 19.1°C Belfast

Derry City into League Cup Final with victory over Sligo


Rory Hale won the game for Derry City.

Rory Hale won the game for Derry City.

�INPHO/Lorcan Doherty

Rory Hale won the game for Derry City.

Derry City booked their place in their first League Cup Final since 2011 with victory over Sligo Rovers at The Showgrounds on Monday.

Rory Hale was the hero for the Candystripes who won the game 1-0.

Derry had the better of the first half and should have gone in two ahead at the break but Sligo regrouped and pushed for an equaliser for much of the second period.

City have their captain Gerard Doherty to thank for keeping them in the game on a number of occasions.

They will now face Cobh Ramblers in the final on September 16 with the venue yet to be confirmed.

Sligo Rovers: Mitchell Beeney, Patrick McClean, Mikey Drennan, Kris Twardek, Kyle Callan McFadden, Rhys McCabe, Regan Donelan (Caolan McAleer 84’), David Cawley, Lewis Morrison (Raffaele Cretaro 59’), Lee J Lynch, John Mahon.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Conor McDermott (Aidy Delap 79’), Dan Seaborne, Aaron McEneff, Aaron Splaine, Rory Hale, Ben Fisk (Sean McBride 88’), Dean Shiels, Ben Doherty, Ronan Hale, Kevin McHattie.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Top Videos