Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

English quarter-finalists in the Champions League

Manchester City and Liverpool will represent the Premier League in the last eight.

The Champions League quarter-finalists have been decided
The Champions League quarter-finalists have been decided

England will have two teams in the Champions League quarter-finals after Chelsea’s defeat to Barcelona left just Liverpool and Manchester City in the competition.

It is the first time since 2013-14, with Manchester United and Chelsea, that two Premier League clubs have reached the last eight.

Here Press Association looks how teams have fared over the last seven years.

2010-11 (Manchester United, Chelsea, Tottenham)

Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney put his side on the way to a Champions League quarter-final win over Chelsea with a goal at Stamford Bridge .

With almost half the draw being English it was no surprise when United and Chelsea were drawn against each other. Wayne Rooney’s solitary goal gave Sir Alex Ferguson’s side the advantage heading back to Old Trafford, where they completed the job with a 2-1 win as Javier Hernandez and Park Ji-sung were on target to ensure Didier Drogba’s goal to briefly make it 1-1 on the night did not spark a fightback. The semi-final draw was favourable as Real Madrid and Barcelona were put together, leaving United to face Schalke who they dispatched 6-1 on aggregate. However, there was to be no fairytale ending at Wembley as Barcelona ran out 3-1 winners. Tottenham’s semi-final hopes were ended by a 4-0 first leg thrashing in the Bernabeu, with a 1-0 home defeat confirming the inevitable.

2011-12 (Chelsea)

Frank Lampard's penalty helped Chelsea to see off Benfica at Stamford Bridge.

Sole survivors Chelsea got a favourable draw against Benfica and Salomon Kalou’s away goal in the 1-0 win at the Estadio da Luz swung the tie in their favour. Frank Lampard’s penalty at Stamford Bridge made life easier and Raul Meireles’ added-time strike ensured Javi Garcia’s equaliser on the night did not produce any late drama. Chelsea went on to beat Barcelona 3-2 on aggregate and then defeat Bayern Munich on penalties to win the trophy for the first time.

2012-2013 (No English clubs)

2013-14 (Manchester United, Chelsea)

Diego Costa , later to become a Chelsea player, scored a penalty at Stamford Bridge in Atletico Madrid's 3-1 win.

In a strong last eight line-up United drew Bayern Munich and Chelsea were pitted against Paris St-Germain. United drew the first leg 1-1 to leave them up against it in the Allianz Arena, where they lost 3-1 despite taking the lead through Patrice Evra. It was the same scoreline Chelsea lost their first leg in Paris, the goal coming via Eden Hazard’s penalty. Andre Schurrle’s first half goal in the second leg gave Chelsea hope and Demba Ba struck three minutes from time to put the Londoners through on away goals. Chelsea drew Atletico in the semis and went out 3-1 on aggregate despite a goalless draw in Spain.

2014-15 (No English clubs)

2015-16 (Manchester City)

Kevin De Bruyne scored in both legs as Manchester City beat Paris St-Germain in the quarter-final.

Goals from Kevin De Bruyne and Fernandinho in the French capital gave City the upper hand heading into the home leg against PSG. Their passage was secured by De Bruyne’s goal 14 minutes from time for a 3-2 aggregate win. City drew Real Madrid in the semis but after holding the eventual winners to a goalless draw at home they were eliminated by Fernando’s own goal in the Bernabeu.

2016-17 (Leicester)

Jamie Vardy's goal was not enough to prevent Leicester's quarter-final exit at home to Diego Simeone's Atletico Madrid.

Premier League champions Leicester’s fairytale took them all the way to the quarter-finals as England’s only representatives. They lost 1-0 to Atletico Madrid in the first leg and although Jamie Vardy’s goal gave them hope in the home leg they could only draw 1-1 to lose 2-1 on aggregate.

Press Association


From Belfast Telegraph