Belfast Telegraph

It's a cruise for Spain in Turkey carve-up

Spain 3-0 Turkey

By Simon Peach

Reigning champions Spain marched into the second round of Euro 2016 with a 3-0 stroll over Turkey.

Two goals in three first-half minutes from Alvaro Morata and Nolito put Vicente del Bosque's team in control to move them top of Group D and into the last 16.

Juventus forward Morata added a third in the second half before Spain eased off ahead of their final group game against Croatia on Tuesday.

They were rarely troubled in Nice - becoming the first team to score three goals at this year's tournament - with Turkey on the brink after two defeats from their opening two games.

Spain have not lost at the European Championship since a 1-0 defeat to Portugal in 2004 and looked at their imperious best in the Allianz Riviera despite a lack of fight from Turkey.

Just like their in opening game against the Czech Republic, Spain dominated the first half.

But, in contrast to Monday, Spain did not have to wait until the death to grab a deserved opener. The holders took the lead in the 34th minute when Morata cleverly directed Nolito's cross past Volkan Babacan from 10 yards.

Then, three minutes later, it was Nolito's turn as the Celta Vigo forward cashed in on Mehmet Topal's miscued header to guide the ball into the corner.

Turkey managed to limp to half-time without further damage but conceded a third just three minutes after the break when Spain sliced them open. Andres Iniesta found Jordi Alba, who looked offside, but no flag came and he unselfishly squared to Morata to tap in from six yards and cap a 22-pass move.

Spain: De Gea, Juanfran, Pique, Sergio Ramos, Jordi Alba (Azpilicueta 81), Fabregas (Koke 71), Busquets, Iniesta, Silva (Bruno 64), Morata, Nolito.

Booked: Sergio Ramos.

Goals: Morata 34, Nolito 37, Morata 48.

Turkey: Babacan, Gonul, Topal, Balta, Erkin, Tufan, Inan (Malli 70), Ozyakup (Sahan 62),Calhanoglu (Sahin 46), Yilmaz, Turan.

Booked: Yilmaz,Tufan.

Possession: Spain 61%, Turkey 39%

Shots on target: Spain 6, Turkey 0

Referee: Milorad Mazic (Serbia).

Belfast Telegraph