| 23.5°C Belfast

Roy Carroll ready for FA Cup reunion with Giggs, Scholes, Butt and the Neville brothers as United's class of '92 line up for Salford City




Man Utd via Getty Images

Wise head: Roy Carroll in action for Notts County

Wise head: Roy Carroll in action for Notts County

Getty Images



Northern Ireland goalkeeper Roy Carroll is in for a reunion next month with his former Manchester United team-mates Gary and Phil Neville, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt after Notts County were paired with Salford City in the first round of the FA Cup.

The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier side are owned by Manchester United's 'Class of 92' - the Nevilles, Giggs, Scholes and Butt - and will fancy their chances of a shock at home to the League Two outfit, but ex-Old Trafford ace Carroll will have other ideas.

All six were in United's squad the last time the Red Devils won the FA Cup in 2004, beating Millwall 3-0 in the final at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Gary Neville, Scholes and Giggs started for Sir Alex Ferguson's side, Carroll and Butt came off the bench late on and Phil Neville was an unused substitute.

Over 11 years on, they will all be involved in the most attractive first round tie of this year's competition, with Carroll the only one in a playing capacity as captain of Notts County.

The 38-year-old from Fermanagh is sure to receive plenty of attention in the build-up and will no doubt take it all in his stride.

After last night's draw, Salford's former United striker Danny Webber said: "It was important we got a league club and it will be great for the lads to pit their wits against a league club to see where we stand."

Salford's neighbours FC United of Manchester also have an interesting tie, at home to 1997 semi-finalists Chesterfield, while Altrincham could enhance their giant-killing reputation against Barnsley of League One.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Wigan, FA Cup winners in 2013, make the short trip to Bury while 2008 winners Portsmouth are at home to Macclesfield.

Didcot, 15th in Division One South & West of the Evo-Stik Southern League and the lowest-ranked side left in the competition, will welcome Exeter, who were beaten by non-league Warrington at the same stage of the competition last season.

AFC Fylde, of the Vanarama National League North, head to Millwall, while Coventry, winners of the FA Cup in 1987, will entertain their former landlords Northampton.

FA Cup first round draw (ties will take place on November 6-8): Burton Albion v Peterborough, Port Vale v Maidenhead, Barnet v Blackpool, Bristol Rovers v Chesham United, Cambridge Utd v Basingstoke, Mansfield v Oldham, Altrincham v Barnsley, Crewe Alexandra v Eastleigh, Northwich Victoria or Chorley v Boreham Wood, Coventry v Northampton, Brackley v Newport County, Grimsby v St Albans City, Hartlepool United v Havant & Waterlooville or Cheltenham Town, Salford City v Notts County, Dover v Stourbridge, Stevenage v Gillingham, Millwall v AFC Fylde, Aldershot v Bradford, Walsall v Fleetwood, Bury v Wigan, Portsmouth v Macclesfield, Sheff Utd v Worcester City, Barwell or AFC Rushden and Diamonds v Grays or Welling, Halifax or Guiseley v Wycombe, Crawley v Luton, Doncaster v Stalybridge Celtic or North Ferriby United, Didcot v Exeter, Dagenham & Redbridge v Morecambe, Leyton Orient v Staines Town, Gainsborough Trinity v Shrewsbury, Maidstone v Yeovil, Braintree v Oxford United, Whitehawk v Tranmere or Lincoln, Accrington v York, Scunthorpe v Southend, AFC Wimbledon v Forest Green Rovers, Plymouth v Carlisle, FC United of Manchester v Chesterfield, Rochdale v Swindon, Wealdstone v Colchester.

Top Videos