Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Football

Gareth Southgate to name England World Cup squad on May 16

Southgate’s selection will be closely scrutinised.

Gareth Southgate’s final squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russia will be announced on May 16.

The Football Association confirmed that would be the date when the 23-man group for the finals would be revealed.

The following day England manager Southgate will face the media to discuss the squad announcement at Wembley.

Southgate has some big calls to make

World governing body FIFA has set June 4 as the date when all final squads for the tournament must be submitted.

Southgate has already been forced to rule Liverpool duo Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Joe Gomez out of his plans.

Oxlade-Chamberlain suffered a season-ending knee injury in the first leg of the Reds’ Champions League semi-final against Roma, while Gomez has undergone ankle surgery on an injury suffered in England’s friendly against Holland in March.

England will warm up for the World Cup with internationals against Nigeria at Wembley on June 2 and Costa Rica at Elland Road in Leeds on June 7.

They kick off their Russia 2018 campaign against Tunisia on June 18 in Volgograd.


From Belfast Telegraph