Belfast Telegraph

David Healy back in Northern Ireland squad

David Healy today returned to the Northern Ireland squad for the August 10 Windsor Park clash with the Faroe Islands as manager Nigel Worthinton looks to the Rangers' striker's goal power of old to fire his side back into European Championship qualifying contention.

Worthy has also introduced a new face in the shape of Derry City hot property James McClean.

The young player's goalscoring form in the Airtricity League has made him a target for cross-channel clubs and his £200,000 price tag could increase if he gets his international chance and impresses against the Faroes.

Healy's recall will be most welcomed by the fans after his controversial axing from the Carling Nations Cup games against the Republic and Wales in May with Worthy expressing concerns at our international record scorer's lack of game time and goals at Rangers.

The hope will be that Healy will return with all guns blazing with something to prove — to the manager, at least, if not the fans and himself.

There are recalls, as well, for ex-Linfield keeper Alan Mannus, now with St Johnstone in Scotland after a successful spell at southern champions Shamrock Rovers, and also for Burnley's Martin Paterson, one of six strikers in the squad, underlining Worthy's desire to get the goals flowing again and atone for a disappointing 1-1 draw in the Faroes earlier this year.

But there is no place yet for expected Republic defector Alex Bruce of Leeds, son of Sunderland manager Steve Bruce.

SQUAD: Keepers: Jonathan Tuffey (Inverness), Lee Camp (Notts Forest), Alan Mannus (St. Johnstone); Defenders: Jonathan Evans (Man U), Ryan McGivern (Man City), Craig Cathcart (Blackpool), Gareth McAuley (West Brom), Aaron Hughes (Fulham), Lee Hodson (Watford); Midfield: Chris Baird (Fulham), Grant McCann (Peterborough), Niall McGinn (Celtic, on loan at Brentford), Jonny Gorman (Wolves), Corry Evans (Hull), Steve Davis (Rangers), Sammy Clingan (Coventry), Pat McCourt (Celtic); Forwards: Warren Feeney (Oldham), Josh McQuoid (Millwall), James McClean (Derry City), David Healy (Rangers), Jamie Ward (Derby), Martin Paterson (Burnley).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph