Belfast Telegraph

Lafferty returns for Northern Ireland's Russia clash

Northern Ireland manager Michael O'Neill has named a 20-man squad for next week's World Cup qualifying home clash against Russia.

Striker Kyle Lafferty, who sat out the last qualifier due to suspension, is among the party for the Group F game next Wednesday at Windsor Park.

Fellow frontman David Healy, midfielder Paddy McCourt and defender Chris Baird - all currently without a club - have not been included, while West Brom midfielder Chris Brunt is also absent.

The fixture had originally been scheduled for March, but heavy snow and icy playing conditions in Belfast saw it postponed.

Northern Ireland squad to face Russia:

Goalkeepers: Carroll (Olympiacos), Mannus (St Johnstone)

Defenders: Hughes (Fulham), McGivern (Hibernian), Cathcart (Blackpool), McAuley (West Brom), D Lafferty (Burnley), J Evans (Manchester United), Bruce (Hull City)

Midfielders: Davis (Southampton), Norwood (Huddersfield), McGinn (Aberdeen), Ferguson (Newcastle Utd - on loan at Birmingham City), C Evans (Blackburn), McGrant (Peterborough)

Forwards: Grigg (Brentford), McKay (Inverness CT), Paterson (Huddersfield), K Lafferty (Palermo), Ward (Derby)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph