Belfast Telegraph

Northern Ireland team announced for Republic of Ireland and Austria ties

Michael O’Neill (John Walton/PA)
Michael O’Neill (John Walton/PA)

Michael O'Neill has name his squad to face the Republic of Ireland in a friendly on 15th November and Austria in their UEFA Nations League clash at Windsor on 18th November.

The Northern Ireland boss has promoted three players from the Under-21s squad that finished second to Spain in their qualifying group for the U21 Euros. 

Making the step up are Celtic goalkeeper Conor Hazard, Queen’s Park Rangers winger Paul Smyth and Blackpool midfielder Jordan Thompson. All have previously featured for the senior team in international friendlies.

U21s captain Liam Donnelly was also due to join the senior panel, however he is currently undergoing treatment on an injury and is therefore not available.

Returning to the fold for the friendly against the Republic in Dublin on 15th November and the UEFA Nations League game against Austria at Windsor Park on 18th November is Aberdeen winger Niall McGinn, who missed the previous two games through injury.

And also back is Rangers striker Kyle Lafferty, who has apologised for “an error of judgement” in the way he opted out of last month’s Nations League matches away to Austria and Bosnia & Herzegovina.

Charlton Athletic forward Jamie Ward is in the panel as well alongside veteran Rangers defender Gareth McAuley. Both sat out the last two games to work on their fitness with their new clubs.

Rotherham United forward Kyle Vassell, who was a late call-up to last month’s squad, has retained his place in the panel.

Northern Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Michael McGovern (Norwich City), Trevor Carson (Motherwell), Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Leeds United), Conor Hazard (Celtic).

Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Hearts), Gareth McAuley (Glasgow Rangers), Jonathan Evans (Leicester City), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Conor McLaughlin (Millwall), Patrick McNair (Middlesbrough), Jamal Lewis (Norwich City), Michael Smith (Hearts), Tom Flanagan (Sunderland).

Midfielders: Steven Davis (Southampton), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), George Saville (Middlesbrough, loan), Jordan Jones (Kilmarnock), Gavin Whyte (Oxford United), Jordan Thompson (Blackpool).

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Rangers), Josh Magennis (Bolton Wanderers), Jamie Ward (Charlton Athletic, loan), Liam Boyce (Burton Albion), Paul Smyth (Queens Park Rangers), Kyle Vassell (Rotherham United).

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph