Belfast Telegraph

Northern Ireland Under-21s name squad for Spanish training camp

Northern Ireland forward Shayne Lavery.
Northern Ireland forward Shayne Lavery.
Adam McKendry

By Adam McKendry

Northern Ireland Under-21s head coach Ian Baraclough has named his squad for a warm weather training camp on the Costa del Sol next week.

The team will head to Marbella as part of a week-long camp that will also feature two friendly matches while they are out there against Bulgaria and Mexico.

First up are the Bulgarians next Friday, March 22 (kick-off 1pm) at the Marbella Football Centre, while the Estadio Municipal de Marbella will host the second friendly against Mexico on Monday 25th.

Northern Ireland get their Euro 2021 qualification underway in September against Malta, with this the first preparation for that campaign having narrowly missed out on making this year's Euros.

The squad is drastically changed from the previous squad named by Baraclough, with many of those from the Euro 2019 qualification campaign now ineligible to represent the Under-21s.

As a result, the likes of Manchester United youth star Ethan Galbraith, Leeds midfielder Alfie McCalmont and Rangers duo Daniel Finlayson and Cameron Palmer all get their first calls to represent the Under-21s having graduated from the Under-19s.

There are plenty of Irish League players in the squad, with Declan Dunne, Jared Thompson, Kofi Balmer, Nathan Kerr, Kyle McClean and Chris Gallagher all named as part of the panel, while former Glenavon starlet Bobby Burns is also included.

Other new faces in the squad include Liverpool midfielder Liam Coyle, Derry City centre-back Eoin Toal and forward Josh Kelly of Maidenhead United.

There are some familiar names, however, with Everton striker Shayne Lavery, Stoke midfielder Jake Dunwoody and Derry City's David Parkhouse all familiar to being named in underage squads.

Northern Ireland Under-21 squad

Goalkeepers: Declan Dunne (Portadown, on loan from Cliftonville), Jared Thompson (Warrenpoint Town, on loan from Chelsea)

Defenders: Eoin Toal (Derry City), Pierce Bird (Notts County), Kofi Balmer (Ballymena United), Daniel Finlayson (Rangers), Bobby Burns (Hearts), Danny Amos (Hartlepool, on loan from Doncaster Rovers), Nathan Kerr (Glentoran)

Midfielders: Alfie McCalmont (Leeds United), Jake Dunwoody (Stoke City), Kyle McClean (Linfield, on loan from St Johnstone), Cameron Palmer (Rangers), Ethan Galbraith (Manchester United), Liam Coyle (Liverpool), Caolan Boyd-Munce (Birmingham City)

Forwards: Shayne Lavery (Falkirk, on loan from Everton), David Parkhouse (Derry City, on loan from Sheffield United), Josh Kelly (Maidenhead United), Chris Gallagher (Glentoran)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph