Belfast Telegraph

Trevor Carson and Mark Sykes included as Northern Ireland training squad named for camp in Manchester

Great news: Trevor Carson
Great news: Trevor Carson
Gareth Hanna

By Gareth Hanna

Goalkeeper Trevor Carson has returned to the Northern Ireland panel after making a full recovery from deep vein thrombosis.

The Motherwell stopper has been named in Michael O'Neill's 20 man training squad for a three-day camp ahead of next month's Euro 2020 qualifying matches in Estonia (8 June) and Belarus (11 June). Another similar camp will be held next week, also in Manchester, before the boss names his squad for the double-header.

Carson has not played competitive football since developing DVT shortly after playing 90 minutes in Northern Ireland's UEFA Nations League defeat to Austria on November 18. He returned to training with Motherwell over three weeks ago and was named on the bench for Saturday's season-ending victory over Livingston.

Also included in the squad is uncapped Oxford United midfielder Mark Sykes, who has made a flying start to his professional career by making nine League One appearances since his January switch from Glenavon.

Sykes is the second former Glenavon player to be called up by O'Neill this season after Hearts full-back Bobby Burns was brought into the senior squad in November.

After his recent run of first team action, he is set to play in the Scottish Cup final against Celtic on Saturday and few would be surprised to see him make a return to the Northern Ireland squad for the upcoming qualifiers.

There are two unattached players in the panel as Conor McLaughlin and Conor Washington are both included following their releases from Millwall and Sheffield United respectively.

Northern Ireland training panel

Goalkeepers: Michael McGovern (Norwich City), Trevor Carson (Motherwell), Conor Hazard (Celtic);

Defenders: Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Conor McLaughlin (unattached), Daniel Ballard (Arsenal), Ryan McLaughlin (Rochdale), Jonny Evans (Leicester City).

Midfielders: George Saville (Middlesbrough), Mark Sykes (Oxford United), Gavin Whyte (Oxford United), Jordan Thompson (Blackpool), Shane Ferguson (Millwall), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers).

Forwards: Conor Washington (unattached), Josh Magennis (Bolton Wanderers), Liam Boyce (Burton Albion), Paul Smyth (QPR), Kyle Lafferty (Rangers), Kyle Vassell (Rotherham United).

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph